Do you ever wonder why this music gets you high?


Dedicated to explosions, stars.

To be high is an interesting concept. The brain is interrupted by extreme physical, emotional and mental sensations. Everything feels better. “(It) takes you on a ride.”

There are tons of songs that get me high. The feeling is almost indescribable… Sometimes, I must move, I must dance. I have no control. Other times, most of my internal organs feel like they’re about to explode. However, the blended high is the supreme goal. Not every (high) song makes me want to dance. Not every (high) song makes my heart race. But when the two emotions meet, men cry!

My (high) songs are directly related to those artists who have inspired me the most throughout the course of my life: N*SYNC, Michael Jackson, Billy Joel, Lenny Kravitz, Hall & Oates, John Mayer, Simon & Garfunkel and Bob Dylan.

N*SYNC was my first experience with musical obsession, probably based on looks. Although, those five boys were truly talented. Just listen. Then came Billy Joel when I was deeply in love with the piano, and Michael Jackson when I needed to experience dance, love, and acceptance all in one. He’s still my favorite, obviously.  John Mayer‘s Continuum was and is in my top ten, as are his musical abilities. Lenny Kravitz‘s Mama Said album made me look at music in a different way. That album is a prime example of how I would rather listen to my artists’ less popular albums. Bob Dylan and Simon & Garfunkel came as a package when I thrived on acoustic guitar and the 1960s. After I saw Hall & Oates in concert with my mother last summer, it was time to add them to the group :D. These are the artist who I will go to the end of the earth defending, promoting, and listening to. I try my hardest to obtain all of their music (legally), and take time to listen, to learn. There is more to an artist than popularity. There’s exploration of music, love, patience, trust and willingness. As I always tell people, the least popular songs are usually the best.

Here are just a few of my (high) songs:

  • “It Makes Me Ill” by N*SYNC
  • “Scenes From An Italian Restaurant” by Billy Joel
  • “Liberian Girl” by Michael Jackson
  • “Gravity” by John Mayer
  • “What Goes Around Comes Around” by Lenny Kravitz
  • “Flowers Never Bend In The Rainfall” by Simon & Garfunkel
  • “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” by Bob Dylan
  • “Every Time I Look At You” by Hall & Oates

Not all of them are earth shattering to many, but to me, they are gold.

What are your high songs?

Photo Credit: Purple Sky

Leave a Reply

