Esperanza is coming!


Esperanza Spalding is performing in Lancaster, PA at Long’s Park Amphitheater on June 20th…FOR FREE! I encourage anyone who lives close to take the time on that Sunday evening to see this jazz prodigy. Here’s a sneak peak clip of her in 2008 on Jimmy Kimmel Live :

An excerpt from her “Precious” song:

“See love ain’t all heaven
And I am no angel
But I do the best I can”

Here’s the way I see it: I wish the public would appreciate and love jazz as I do, but I kind of like the underground jazz scene where it is. I wouldn’t want society to take jazz for granted just as popular music was taken for granted. Some popular music has actual musicality and depth, but because of the public’s ignorance  of musical knowledge, the talent-based songs are dumped into a basket with mediocre songs. Kudos to the American Idol 2010 finale for exposing the young viewers to some great musicians: Chicago, Hall & Oates, Alanis Morissette, Janet Jackson. It’s rare for me to say this, because I usually have nothing positive to say about American Idol. Maybe, just maybe, it’s changing.

Have children? Please get them involved in something that can help their mind, body, and future! VH1 Save the Music is an excellent example of one the programs devoted to keeping children involved in music through their schools. I participated in marching band, symphonic and concert bands, various choir, and even took private lessons over the years I was in grade school. I was also a music major for two semesters in college, and participate in choirs. Believe me, I know private lessons are not cheap, but they are one hundred percent worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

