MF Doom “takes” Hall & Oates!


Dedicated to Nick Bailey.

I just made a mind-blowing discovery!

A few months ago Nick Bailey gave me MF Doom’s Special Herbs collection of albums (minus the 5&6 album).The five-album set is basically an accumulation of beats. It’s very relaxing. It’s hip-hop, jazz, pop, ambient and anything else you can think of. I’ve been listening to the albums since last night when I decided to rearrange the furniture in my room. I’m almost to 7&8! The very last song of 3&4 is called “Hyssop”. When I heard it, my mind hole blew!

Now, listen to the very beginning of “Hyssop” and tell me MF Doom didn’t sample Hall & Oates’ “I Can’t Go For That”!

I LOVE Hall & Oates, so when I heard the beginning of “Hyssop”, I flipped out a bit. 🙂 I told Nick (because he knows I love Hall & Oates, hence giving me about six of their records for my birthday) and he geeked out too! Apparently MF Doom fans have been trying to figure out what song was sampled for “Hyssop”. 8)

This was my mind-blowing discovery of the week! And I’ll be high on this revelation ALL day.

One response to “MF Doom “takes” Hall & Oates!

  1. Fuckin right! That is what he sampled! That’s cool as shit that you caught that!

Leave a Reply

