State of Mind


Dedicated to the Big Apple.

While taking showers, I listen to the radio. Any other time I would shun the radio because there are far too many “popular” songs versus far too little unpopular genius on the airwaves. I truly enjoy listening to all genres, and discovering music that didn’t make that #1 spot. I can say that with complete honesty. (However, there are still musicians I do not favor.)…

Senior class trip to NYC two years ago

(My new yoga class professor asked each of us to write down a significant fact about ourselves so she could remember us easier. A classmate said that his “true passion is music”, and that he likes all genres. Not two days later he was bashing the yoga music our professor pre-ordered for class. This nauseated me. First, why do people blatantly lie about what music they listen to? It’s okay to tell people you dislike this or that. Second, I feel that people who truly consider music a passion can find a time and place to appreciate each different tune. I am not partial to Beyonce’s “Halo”, but in a yoga warm-up setting it fit well. )

Back to the radio…

I’ve been hearing Jay-Z and Alicia Keys’s “Empire State of Mind” just about each time I got a shower in the past few days. As popular as this song is, I actually enjoy it quite a bit. I’ve always loved Alicia Keys and still love her first album A LOT. Jay-Z is somewhat of a pioneer and trendsetter, and without him there would be no Kanye West.

“Empire State of Mind” made me think of “New York State of Mind” by Billy Joel, a close counterpart if you will.

“Empire State of Mind” (2009) excerpt:

I’m the new Sinatra,
And since I made it here
I can make it anywhere.

This song represents that feeling I get when I visit New York. That city is electric and can make one feel invincible, able to conquer anything. It’s a great feeling, and I love the collaboration between these two artists: rap and a piano, how ideal.

“New York State of Mind” (1975) excerpt:

Don’t care if it’s Chinatown or on Riverside.
I don’t have any reasons,
I’ve left them all behind.
I’m in a New York state of mind.

I have known this song for a very long time. It’s on Billy Joel’s Greatest Hits Vol. 1 and I was probably about eight years old when I registered Billy Joel into my knowledge box. This song is bluesy, jazzy, sexy, and mournful all at the same time. It’s about relaxing and realizing where your heart is.

2 responses to “State of Mind

  1. I hate it when people do that too. You can’t claim you have general appreciation if you don’t have general appreciation. Alicia Keys is starting to sound a little too industry to me and so is Jay-Z. They were cool to me in early on but now…eh, I just don’t like the sound the industry is going into.

  2. I agree. I hate the way the industry mass produces sound lately. I do still love Alicia Keys, but not her latest album very much. It sounds like pop bull shit and she sounded wonderful doing blues/jazz ballads. However, blues and jazz do not sell. 😦

Leave a Reply

