Favored Remakes


Dedicated to the groups who first sang these tunes.

I rarely favor cover songs. There are few exceptions: most of the songs from the Across the Universe film and various jazz tunes. However, I love two specific songs that were crafted decades ago and have since been recorded as covers.

“In the Still of the Night” by BoyzIIMen (originally recorded by the Five Satins in 1956)

This song makes me yearn for someone to hold onto. It’s incredibly beautiful and undoubtedly brings tears to my eyes. I first heard this song on the miniseries The Jacksons: An American Dream. The BoyzIIMen boys are singing in the street as a random gang and soon start picking a fight with the Jackie Jackson character because he’s popular.

Harmony is my weakness. I always loved being an alto because we usually sang harmony under the sopranos’ melody (although that is not always the case). Harmony makes me feel different, unique, and I love feeling different. I’m not interested in conformity. Music is nonconforming.

“You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling” by Hall & Oates (originally recorded by the Righteous Brothers in 1965)

I’ve expressed my love of Hall & Oates numerous times :). Seeing them in concert was mind-blowing. This cover has much more soul than the first version. Sorry Righteous Brothers… I have yet to be let down by Hall & Oates.

On the road trip back from Memphis about two weekends ago, I rode with my mom for the first day and my dad for the second and third days. I rocked out to this song with both of them. It made me smile so hard : ))))). I love finding songs I can experience with different people, and who better to experience this classic with than my parents! Both of them seemed to know the cover very well.

Cover songs are often frowned upon, thought of as unethical or a needed track to finish an album. Yet, I feel that when a musician covers another musician’s work, it is out of love and respect, not greed. Because ownership is established today and songs aren’t passed around like they were in the 1950s and earlier, composers and writers are recognized for their work.

One response to “Favored Remakes

  1. I love that version by BoysIIMen!

Leave a Reply

