Goose Pimples


Dedicated to Eva Cassidy, who is more famous in death.

Think about a song you are captivated by.
Think about your favorite seconds of the song.
Think about what that moment does to your insides.

In just about every song I’m deeply fond of, there is a climax (usually the bridge or an embellishment) that pulls me. I yearn for that peak in hearing the first few seconds of song. It makes me nervous, anxious.

This is the song that comes to mind. Eva Cassidy singing “Over the Rainbow” at Blues Alley in 1996:

This woman was unknown outside of Washington, D.C. when she died of melanoma in 1996. Covers of jazz, folk, blues, and pop classics gained her local recognition. Now, there are only two songs in existence that were co-written by her. After death, compilations of her recordings were released. Her version of “Over the Rainbow” caught the world’s ear.

Imagine selling more records in death than in life. Unconventional, yet outstanding.

Whenever I hear the climax of this song my nose wrinkles. It’s the same feeling I gets when too much soda carbonation fizzles in my nose. Since I don’t drink soda anymore, I achieve the fizzle feeling by listening to this song.

Regardless of my current mood, this song always brings tears to my eyes, whether streaming or glossy-eyed.

You’ll know when you hear the peak of the song.

Quote of the Week:

If you wait to do everything until you’re sure it’s right, you’ll probably never do much of anything.” – Win Borden

Photo Credit: Eva

2 responses to “Goose Pimples

  1. Pingback: Eva Cassidy – “Fields of Gold” | IdaFlo.com

  2. I have been an Eva fan for years and dearly wish I’d have had the chance to hear her perform while she was still with us. Today I wrote a blog about the similarities I noticed between Eva and current American Idol runner-up Crystal Bowersox. I’d love to know what you think.

    Thanks — Judson

Leave a Reply

