Ah, Childhood.


Dedicated to Sir, with love.

Studies have shown that babies respond well to music, even before birth! A great musical mind by the name of George Bradshaw, my high school band director and teacher, taught me about “Baby Mozart” during our Music Appreciation class.

“Baby Mozart” is much like “Baby Einstein”. It’s used during the earliest days of a baby’s life to nourish his or her mind as a form of early education.

The main scene of the video was a child’s toy that featured seals going around a track. If I remember correctly, Mozart’s Symphony #40 was playing during the entire segment we watched. Like a child, I was captivated by the relaxation of classical sounds and simple elements of toys.

To all young mothers, kick start your baby’s learning with music! There are plenty of great children’s shows on television that use music as a means of learning. Two long existing shows include “Sesame Street” and “Jim Henson’s Muppets”. Both shows teach toddlers (and babies!) simple fundamentals of numbers, shapes and colors with a usual touch of good morals.

I found this creative video of Beaker from “Jim Henson’s Muppets” singing Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” about a year ago. As far as I know it is strictly a Youtube creation and was never on the show, but it’s an excellent example of how many children’s shows use music.

Music is an essential aid for learning in early childhood. Who knows, you may be raising the next Mozart!

Photo Credit: Baby Mozart

2 responses to “Ah, Childhood.

  1. My mom tells me all the time all the different music she made me listen to in utero haha
    funny thing is i like all of it…

  2. My mom never told me which music she listened to when I was a bun, but I’ve always loved all the music they listen to so there’s an obvious influence

Leave a Reply

