Songs About Coffee


Dedicated to the clouds in my coffee.

Coffee has been a symbol of energy for centuries. The caffeine in coffee beans is a natural pick-me-up. Coffee soothing. It brings people together in homes and public places alike.

Some prefer their coffee black, others prefer cream and sugar in a cup of joe. Coffee can be bitter, sweet, strong, or weak. The perfect cup depends on the drinker.

Starbucks and other coffee chains have made millions from the idea of waking people up in a relaxing setting. Many people buy coffee on the way to work in the morning, but cafes have also become a place where students and writers are encouraged to spend their work time.

I never liked the taste of coffee much as a kid. The smell of coffee on an adult’s breath turned me off. By the time I was in high school, I began to drink coffee on the weekends when my parents were drinking it with breakfast. Slowly, the taste became familiar to me. I eventually developed my own perfect cup: an old Topsail Island mug with hazelnut coffee, a touch of half and half, and a very light amount of sugar. Depending on the flavor, sugar may or may not be needed.

As I stayed up late last night doing homework, I stared at my mug of coffee. I began to think about the clouds in my coffee… “You’re So Vain” …coffee songs! Why not write about a common topic in every day live? Here are a few songs about coffee (or that mention coffee) that appear in my iTunes library:

“Java Jive” by Manhattan Transfer
“Cup of Coffee” by Garbage
“Black Coffee” by  Ella Fitzgerald
“Raindrops in My Coffee” by Sexsmith & Kerr
“Coffee and TV” by Blur
“You’re So Vain” by Carly Simon
“Coffee Break” by Forever The Sickest Kids
“One More Cup of Coffee” by Bob Dylan

Photo Credit: Cup O\’ Joe

One response to “Songs About Coffee

  1. I think this is an appropriate tribute as I sit here sipping my morning coffee… Nothing fancy, good organic coffee with half/half… Aaaahhhh… life is good!

Leave a Reply

