Rainstorm


Dedicated to Cindy Crouse for sharing this video with me.

As any University of Memphis student would know, there was downpour just short of a monsoon today. Rain boots were out, umbrellas up.

I neglected to look out my window this morning. The weather widget on my Mac always informs me of the current goings-on in the skies, but no illustration of rain appeared in the early morning. The rain picked up as I drove to campus…

“We been through every kind of rain there is. Little bitty stingin’ rain… and big ol’ fat rain. Rain that flew in sideways. And sometimes rain even seemed to come straight up from underneath.” – Forrest Gump

…Memphis experienced “big ol’ fat rain”, “rain that flew in sideways”, and sometimes rain that “seemed to come straight up from underneath” when it hit puddles. My thin, flat sneakers did not survive a minute. My calves were soaked when I arrived in my classroom, ten minutes from my parking spot. Needless to say, I was upset with the poor drainage system of campus, where people obviously walk to destinations daily.

At any rate, I was listening to Toto a few minutes ago and remembered that my church contemporary choir director sent me this video over the summer. The choir creates the sounds of a rainstorm using hands, voices, and other body parts. Magnificent… The vocals are amazing as well.

“Africa” by Toto performed by Perpetuum Jazzile:

Leave a Reply

