THIS IS IT


Dedicated to Kenny Ortega. Thank you for taking on this project.

thisisit-mj-poster1I ended up skipping class yesterday because I had to buy the This Is It soundtrack at Target. I NEEDED to get that new song (“This Is It”, originally written by Michael in 1980), the three demos of popular hits, and the spoken poem “Planet Earth”. Rain had taken over the skies, discouraging my body, but not my mood. I was too hyped on endorphins from my anxiousness. I almost talked myself out of going to the gym, but I decided to go for the love of my body. Fortunately, the workout did not stifle my high.

The remainder of the afternoon and evening (from 2:30-9:30) was spent doing arm exercises, showering, and prepping for the big show. I was high on Michael the entire day: Bad in my car stereo, This Is It blaring from my computer speakers. I managed to wear two different Michael shirts yesterday: a purple shirt with a silhouette from the Bad Tour during the school day, and my piano shirt, red pants, and shoes from “Beat It” to the premiere.

On Tuesday around 6:30 p.m. central time, there was a live stream of red carpet interviews for the premiere in Los Angeles. I will say that it was interesting to see who was going to the premiere, but sometimes the interviewers strayed from the purpose of the film and show: love. Still, I sat on my bed glued to the intensity, anticipating this historical moment.

The closing to my preparation was watching the Bad Tour Live in Yokohama 1988. (On Monday I received an early birthday present: Michael Jackson Ultimate 32 DVD + 1 CD Collection; Yokohama was one of the concert DVDs.) What an intense show! One has to put oneself in a different time and place to fully experience the magic. As always, I was captivated; I thought I was there. I rewound several clips, trying to master whatever the dance was.

"Smooth Criminal" rehearsal

Thank God (the universe?) I released my melancholy emotions before the premiere! My fellow MJ admirer sat beside me during the show, making me feel as if there was no reason to cry. If I would have cried, all the tears would have been happy because what I witnessed was HIStory in the making. The public never had the chance to see Michael’s creative process and how he worked during rehearsals. He was a perfectionist whose magic shone during show time. His humbleness is admirable. As for the actual show effects: WOW! I won’t give anything away, but there were elements brought onto that stage that I had never dreamed of.

mj3

After a pep talk from Michael

Snippet from “This Is It”:

This is it, I can feel,
I’m the light of the world, this is real.
Feel my song, we can say,
And I tell you, I feel that way.

And I feel as though I’ve known you for a thousand years,
And you said you want some of this yourself.
And you said won’t you go with me, on a while,
And I know that it’s really cool myself.

I never heard a single word about you.
Falling in love wasn’t my plan.
I never thought that I would be your lover.
C’mon baby, just understand.

Even if you have never liked Michael Jackson or his music, I encourage you to see this film. Kenny Ortega and the producers and staff who worked on this project did a fabulous job of showing the public the Michael Jackson nobody knew. As I keep saying in my public speaking class, there is much we can learn from someone we don’t understand.

“It’s all for love, L-O-V-E.” – MJJ

Photo Credit: PosterSmooth Criminal, Pep Talk

Leave a Reply

