Lyrics of the Week – Week 13


Dedicated to my Aunt Dee for introducing these lyrics to me.

“Under The Milky Way” by The Churchmelkweg

Sometimes when this place gets kind of empty
Sound of their breath fades with the light
I think about the loveless fascination
Under the Milky Way tonight

Lower the curtain down on Memphis
Lower the curtain down all right
I got no time for private consultation
Under the Milky Way tonight

Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find
Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find

And it’s something quite peculiar
Something shimmering and white
Leads you here despite your destination
Under the Milky Way tonight

Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find
Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find

Under the Milky way tonight..
Under the Milky Way tonight…

Although the band claims that the lyrics have no meaning, I’ve heard from several sources that they do hold meaning. The picture above is Melkweg (or “Milky Way”), a performing venue and restaurant in Amsterdam that may be behind The Church’s lyrics. Whether that’s true or not may never be known.

My Aunt Dee sent these lyrics to me during a period of confusion. I was unsure whether I should stay in Memphis for school or go home to Pennsylvania, where I feel I belong. Because of a recent roommate situation I may be stuck alone in a two-bedroom apartment. My loneliness would only grow. On Saturday, I made the decision to apply to a few schools in Pennsylvania.

Last spring, I decided to stay in Memphis because I was in a great relationship, but the long distance struggle ruined my summer. Sometimes I regret not going home when I knew it would have been best. I could have been with people who love me in a place that I knew well. For a long time I was worried that going home meant I was weak. I had made this life changing decision to go to school in a different state and I was afraid I would be seen as weak if I went back to my small town. I’ve come to the point where I no longer believe that.

This place does feel empty, like the lyrics say. I’m ready to close the curtain on the Memphis chapter of my life. If I knew what I was looking for in Memphis, maybe I could have found it. I’m not sure exactly why the universe led me here, but I’m certain I know what I need in my life now.

Photo Credit: Melkweg

Leave a Reply

