Refresh


Dedicated to Pepsi.

When I first saw this Pepsi commercial during the 2009 Superbowl, I just about had an aneurism. I do this from time to time when my major influences are presented or honored. Somehow, these moments inspire me because I know that other people are learning of my idols’ importance.

For me, Bob Zimmerman (later changed to Dylan) is not only the skinny, awkward looking boy with the terrible voice. A friend of mine said it best: “Dylan is not worldly. His poetry is too good to be a part of this world.” Although I believe that certain earthbound people are rare stones in this dusty earth, I could see where he was coming from. Dylan creates scenery with words unlike many poets or songwriters. He appeals to a wide spectrum of music lovers because of his changing styles and central ideas.

What’s interesting about the commercial is how every scene shows a 60s era scenario that is followed by its current era parallel. Will. I. Am. did a fabulous job recreating (or “refreshing”) Dylan’s mannerisms. A+.

One response to “Refresh

  1. As soon as I saw this commercial during the Super Bowl, I said “I have to call Krista!”. Before I could press the call button, my phone rang & it was you. Love that commercial! Forever Young!

Leave a Reply

