Wild Thing, You Make My Heart Sing


Dedicated to children everywhere.

Where The Wild Things Are is set to premiere in theaters on Oct. 16. I first viewed the trailer when I went to see Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince. I was mesmerized.

This trailer makes me feel like a child again. Besides the fact that I read this book as a child, I can still relate to every aspect of childhood. I still have hopes, fears, and adventures. I believe that there is a child lurking in all of us. Some choose to embrace their inner child, and some choose to forget they ever had adventures. I like to keep a balance of the child in me and the adult in me. I learn from both.

It is possible that a trailer can fail to reach an audience if the music is not alluring. However, that is not the case for this trailer. “Wake Up” by The Arcade Fire has perfect choral sequences as well as fitting lyrics:

Somethin’ filled up
my heart with nothin’,
someone told me not to cry.

But now that I’m older,
my heart’s colder,
and I can see that it’s a lie.

Children wake up,
hold your mistake up,
before they turn the summer into dust.

If the children don’t grow up,
our bodies get bigger but our hearts get torn up.
We’re just a million little god’s causin rain storms turnin’ every good thing to rust.

I guess we’ll just have to adjust.

With my lighnin’ bolts a glowin’
I can see where I am goin’ to be
when the reaper he reaches and touches my hand.

With my lighnin’ bolts a glowin’
I can see where I am goin’
With my lighnin’ bolts a glowin’
I can see where I am go-goin’

You better look out below!

Grow up, but not too much. Don’t forget the young one in you with the unreachable dreams and blurred view of the world.

Children dancing around Peter Pan statue - 1935

Children dancing around Peter Pan statue - 1935

Quote of the Week:

Children learn to talk by experimenting and listening; they can learn to make music by experimenting and listening–unless we stop them! Place children in surroundings that are full of “invitations to learn,” provide them with encouraging and sympathetic attitudes from adults, as well as knowledge, and amazing things can happen–especially to the sensory perceptions that are central to the arts…do we have the courage to embark with them on what are frequently unknown seas?
–Emma D. Sheehy

Photo Credit: Peter Pan

Leave a Reply

