Music in the Media


Dedicated to parents’ efforts to shelter their children.

Today in my Mass Communications class, we discussed the ways media effects American society. The professor began by asking the class what came to mind when she said “Lucy”. The majority of the class thought of I Love Lucy. After she asked various questions about the show, it was clear to me that media plays an essential role in the way our society is shaped.

This can be as dangerous as it is powerful. For instance, what is the outcome of an eight-year-old listening to songs about sex? What if a ten-year-old has permission to surf the web without restrictions and he or she read my last post about Prince’s erotic nature? The song “Teenage Suicide” by Unwritten Law can be heard by anyone. There are plenty of music videos that should be rated R. Artists take advantage of freedom of speech daily. Songs marked with “explicit lyrics” should not be an excuse for parents to allow children to listen to violent or sexual songs above a child’s intelligence. I’m not getting started on my views about parenting…

However, I am a strong believer in breaking the rules (as seen in my Prince post). A great friend of mine is huge fan of the rapper Khia. She says the most sexual phrases I’ve ever heard in almost all of her songs, excusing a redemption song she wrote to Jesus. While I appreciate her verse, I don’t sit around listening to her all day as I don’t always listen to Christian music, or classical music, or even folk.

What this society needs is not to censor music from adults, but to balance genres and balance certain songs. If one is constantly listening to songs about depression, chances are that person is depressed. Being flexible toward all music types can benefit anyone.

I’m not suggesting that everyone must accept every song he or she hears. Simply take into consideration that this particular song probably has value otherwise it would not have been written.

Photo Credit: Explicit Lyrics

One response to “Music in the Media

  1. Young minds are very impressionable and need the censorship as way of protecting them from the lyrics.

    I do like your last line about the value of the song. Just because it has value doesn’t mean it will create an aesthetic response. That is up to the individual listener.

    Nice job!

Leave a Reply

